Helen Hayes Hospital Foundation 2007 Gala Scheduled

July 12, 2007

The annual Helen Hayes Hospital Gala, a benefit for the physical rehabilitation hospital in West Haverstraw, will be held on Saturday, November 3, 2007 at the Pearl River Hilton in Pearl River, New York. Sponsored by the Helen Hayes Hospital Foundation, the theme of this year’s Gala is “Island Breeze.” Two individuals will be honored with the Helen Hayes MacArthur Award at the event,

Receiving the 2007 Helen Hayes MacArthur Award at this year’s Gala will be acclaimed actress Ellen Burstyn and President of Rockland Community College, Cliff Wood. Past recipients include John McLoughlin, Montel Williams, Christopher Reeve, Rosie O’Donnell, Dikembe Mutombo, Lily Tomlin, Arthur Ashe, John Hockenberry, and Edward James Olmos.

The Gala is held annually to honor the achievements of individuals who help and inspire other people to live their lives to their fullest potential. This commitment is shared by the staff of Helen Hayes Hospital, who work each day toward the singular goal of helping patients achieve maximum independence. The presentation of the Helen Hayes MacArthur Award is a highlight of the Gala evening. The Award was established by the Helen Hayes Hospital Foundation to honor the hospital’s namesake, First Lady of the American Theater Helen Hayes MacArthur.

The Gala is the Helen Hayes Hospital Foundation’s major fund-raising event. Tickets are $300 and opportunities for sponsorships and advertising space in the Journal are currently available. In addition, donations are being accepted for raffle prizes. For additional information about the Gala, contact the Helen Hayes Hospital Foundation Office at 845-786-4365.